Beechdean AMR Withdraws #1 GT3 From British GT At Snetterton (25.07.16)

Following damage sustained to the #1 Aston Martin Vantage GT3 at the sixth round of the 2016 British GT Championship at Spa-Francorchamps, Beechdean AMR has withdrawn the car from the Snetterton round on August 7.

The #1 car was involved in a collision on the opening lap and the damage meant the car had to be retired from the two-hour race.

“I am hugely disappointed that the car will be unable to take part in the upcoming race at Snetterton,” said Team Principal and driver Andrew Howard. “We always knew that this was going to be a development year for us, and sometimes you have to take the rough with the smooth. British GT is an important series for us and we will continue to take part in the championship, despite this set back. I hope the championship continues to be the proving ground for the amateur driver.”

#1 Beechdean AMR GT3 driver Ross Gunn is also disappointed at the news.

“It is a devastating blow for the team and I am disappointed that we will have to sit out Snetterton but it is all part of the risk when racing, crashes happen,” said Gunn. “The team have always done a great job and focused on the most important programs.”

Beechdean AMR will, however, have its two GT4 cars out on track, the #407 and #408 Vantage GT4s, with Jamie Chadwick and Paul Hollywood partnering in their second race together of the 2016 season.

The next round of the 2016 British GT season will be held at Snetterton on August 7.

Porsche Win WEC 6 Hours Of Nürburgring (25.07.16)

The #1 Porsche 919 Hybrid, driven by Timo Bernhard, Mark Webber and Brendon Hartley took the chequered flag to win an enthralling 6 Hours of Nürburgring to take maximum points from the fourth round of the 2016 FIA World Endurance Championship. The victory for the #1 car was its first of the year.

Audi Sport team Joest took the second and third spots on the podium. The #8 Audi R18 with Lucas di Grassi, Loïc Duval and Oliver Jarvis driving, was second, nearly 54 seconds back from the winning Porsche. The #7 Audi R18, with Marcel Fässler and Andre Lotterer driving (Benoît Tréluyer not driving at this round due to an accident sustained while training) was third, less than a second behind its sister car. The #7 car had led earlier in the race but both the #7 and #8 cars were disadvantaged by two full course yellows.

Continue reading Porsche Win WEC 6 Hours Of Nürburgring (25.07.16)

Audi Sport Team Joest Lock Out Front Row For WEC At Nürburgring (23.07.16)

With the top three in LMP1 qualifying identical to the first round at Silverstone, Audi Sport Team Joest locked out the front row for the 6 Hours of Nürburgring with the #7 Audi R18 qualified by Marcel Fässler and André Lotterer on pole and the #8 car, qualified by Lucas di Grassi and Oliver Jarvis, in second.

The #7 Audi R18 qualified on pole with an aggregate time of 1:30.444. André Lotterer put in a 1:39.239 on his fourth lap of five with Marcel Fässler just over four tenths of a second behind with a 1:39.649 on his fourth lap. In the #8 Audi R18, Oliver Jarvis put in a 1:40.644 on his third lap while Lucas di Grassi drove the fastest lap of qualifying with a 1:38.777 on his second lap.

Continue reading Audi Sport Team Joest Lock Out Front Row For WEC At Nürburgring (23.07.16)

Optimum Motorsport To Field New Driver Line-Up For British GT (22.07.16)

Wakefield-based Optimum Motorsport is to field new drivers in its Audi R8 LMS GT3 for the final two rounds of the 2016 British GT Championship.

Currently in ninth place in the GT3 Teams Championship on 27 points after a sixth place finish at Rockingham and a fifth place finish at Silverstone, Team Principal Shaun Goff has announced changes for Snetterton and Donington. As a result, Ryan Ratcliffe and Will Moore will no longer drive for the team.

Continue reading Optimum Motorsport To Field New Driver Line-Up For British GT (22.07.16)

Abbie Eaton Seeking Sponsors For Final Rounds of 2016 British GT Championship (19.07.16)

Abbie Eaton, driver of the #60 Ebor GT Motorsport Maserati GT NC GT4 with driving partner  Marcus Hoggarth, has announced that, unless further sponsorship can be found, Round 6 of the 2016 British GT Championship at Spa-Francorchamps may have been her last of the season.

The #60 Ebor GT Motorsport Maserati GT MC GT4 lies fifth in the 2016 British GT Teams Championship on 72 points.

“Currently the Maserati will not be out for the last two rounds of the year due to a shortfall in my budget,” wrote Abbie Eaton on Facebook. “I am working hard every day to try and raise the needed funds but the situation at present is that Spa was my last race.”

“It’s a shame that the only Maserati racing in the UK is to sit out the end of the season when we’re getting stronger and stronger with every race, and more than capable of a top 3 position in the championship at the end of the year – we’re currently 2nd in Pro/Am..not bad for a new car, new championship and new drivers.”

Abbie Eaton is currently working hard to raise the necessary backing and is inviting potential sponsors to contact her directly.

“Packages start as little as £1,000 and have loads of benefits and extras.”

“If anyone is interested in becoming a sponsor, knows of any companies that may be interested or has any ideas, please get in touch. I’d love to hear from you and let’s finish the season off properly!”

Abbie Eaton can be contacted at


Porsche Leads Manufacturers Title Chase Going Into FIA WEC At Nürburgring (19.07.16)

Sunday July 24 sees the fourth round of the 2016 FIA World Endurance Championship take place at the Nürburgring.

After an enthralling first three rounds of the 2016 season, Porsche lead the Manufacturers Championship on 127 points, 32 points ahead of Audi. Toyota, following its heartbreak at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, are third in the Manufacturers’ title chase on 70 points.

In the race for the FIA Endurance Trophy for LMP2 Teams, Signatech Alpine, with its #36 Nissan-powered Alpine A460, currently leads the standings on 87 points after its win at the French classic. The #26 G-Drive Racing ORECA 05 is second on 66 points after its pole position and second place at the Circuit de la Sarthe. Third in the Endurance Trophy for LMP2 Teams, on 56 points, is the #43 RGR Sport by Morand Ligier JS P2 after a consistent season so far in 2016.

Continue reading Porsche Leads Manufacturers Title Chase Going Into FIA WEC At Nürburgring (19.07.16)

"When you're racing, it's life. Anything that happens before or after is…. just waiting. " Steve McQueen – "Le Mans" – 1971