Asian Le Mans Series Sprint Cup

Asian Le Mans Series Sprint Cup Returns For Round Two Action At Sepang

Following a break since late May for the 24 Hours of Le Mans, the Asian Le Mans Series Sprint Cup returns to Sepang International Circuit for round 2 on August 6 and 7.

Eleven cars will contest the two-race meeting with six cars entered in the LMP3 class, one in the CN class and four in the GT Cup class.

Three examples of the ADESS LMP3 chassis will take to the grid – one each from Team AAI, Nexus Infinity and PS Racing. The #91 Team AAI entry will be piloted by Junsan Chen and Ollie Millroy. The Nexus Infinity #27 car will be driven by Adrian D’Silva and Garnett Patterson while Angelo Negro and Phillippe Prette will share the driving duties in the #48 PS Racing entry.

DC Racing and Eurasia Motorsport will both field Ligier JSP3s. The #1 DC Racing entry will be driven by James Winslow and Dean Koutsoumidis while Aidan Read and Tanart Sathienthirakul will pilot the #94 Eurasia Motorsport entry, twice a winner at the opening round in May.

The lone Ginetta LMP3, the #67 PRT Racing entry, will be driven by Ate de Jong and Charlie Robertson.

One entry, the #68 PS Racing Ligier JS 53, competes in the CN class with Neric Wei the current confirmed driver.

Team Lotus HK has entered three Lotus Evora GTCs in the GT Cup class. The #11 car will be driven by Robert Webb, the #28 by Anthony Chan and the #98 by Eric Wong. The sole Porsche, the #77 team NZ Porsche GT3 Cup car, will be driven by Graeme Dowsett and John Curran.

The race weekend for the Asian Le Mans Series Sprint Cup consists of two 45-minute free practice sessions, two 15-minute qualifying sessions during which both drivers must take part and two 60-minmute races. The one hour races follow a similar format to the British GT Championship with a mandatory pit stop to be taken between the 25th and 35th minute.

Winners of each class in the 2016 ALMS Sprint Cup benefit from a free entry into the 2016/2017 Asian Le Mans Series in their respective class.