British GT Championship

Prestigious BRDC Awards For British GT Stars Parfitt, Morris, Tregurtha, Middleton and Adam (04.12.17)

The British Racing Drivers Club honoured stars from the British GT grid at its annual awards on December 4.

Team Parker Racing duo Rick Parfitt Jnr and Seb Morris, 2017 Champions in the Team Parker Racing #31 Bentley Continental GT3, won the John Cobb Memorial Trophy, an award given to drivers racing a British car ‘who achieved success of outstanding character’.

Parfitt Jnr, who suffers from Crohn’s disease, a condition which caused him to race in considerable discomfort on occasions this season, was delighted to receive the award.

“This is the pinnacle, really,” said Parfitt Jnr. “It was such a privilege to be up on stage receiving both awards in from of my peers and so many incredible people from across motor racing. But it’s also very satisfying to achieve the level of credibility that comes from winning awards like these, and amazing to think that my name will forever be on the same trophies as so many greats from our sport.”

“That’s not something anyone can take away from you. Equally, it was nice that the difficulties I’ve had this year, and in previous years, were recognised, and that we’ve managed to achieve something special without always being at 100%.”

Will Tregurtha and Stuart Middleton, drivers with GT4 Teams Championship-winning HHC Motorsports were the first joint winners of the Henry Surtees Trophy, acknowledging the most outstanding performances by BRDC Rising Stars.

Two-time British GT champion Jonny Adam, along with Aston Martin Racing driver Darren Turner won the Woolf Barnato Trophy for the highest-placed British drivers in a British Car at Le Mans. Adam, who simultaneously held the British GT, Blancpain GT Series and Le Mans titles at one point in the 2017 season, won the Fairfield Trophy for an outstanding performance by a BRDC member.