Intelligent Money British GT Championship Latest

Team Parker Racing Porsche Quickest in drying FP2

The #66 Team Parker Racing Porsche 911GT3 R went quickest in the second practice session for rounds five and six of the Intelligent Money British GT Championship at Snetterton, Scott Malvern lapping in 2:07.440.

Second quickest was the #18 WPI Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan GT3 in which Phil Keen put in a 2:07.71. Completing the overall top three was the #6 RAM Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3, Yelmer Buurman setting a 2:07.799 in the car he shares with Ian Loggie.

Quickest of the GT4 grid was the class-leading #57 Century Motorsport BMW M4 GT4 in which Will Burns lapped in 2:15.843.

FP2 got underway after a torrential downpour which left the 2.97 miles of the Snetterton 300 circuit very wet with the additional challenges of standing water.

Drivers were being very cautious on the opening laps and, after ten minutes of running, only two cars from the GT3 grid were among the top ten positions on the timing screens.

After 13 minutes of the 60-minute session, the quickest car from the GT3 grid was the #77 Enduro Motorsport McLaren 720S GT3 in the hands of Marcus Clutton who had lapped in 2:18.596, 1.26 seconds quicker than Scott McKenna’s #15 Toyota GAZOO Racing UK GT4 GR Supra.

The sun came out with 44 minutes remaining but the track was still very wet, adding the additional challenge of glare affecting the 21 cars circulating.

With a track drying slowly, Lewis Proctor put in a 2:14.716 in the #5 Balfe Motorsport McLaren 720S GT3. Quickest of the GT4 entries was the #56 Assetto Motorsport Ginetta G56 in the hands of Charlie Robertson who lapped in 2:18.884.

Times started to tumble with Yelmer Buurman lapping in 2:11.652 in the #6 RAM Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3. Buurman improved to a 2:090.104, just over a second quicker than Scott Malvern’s #66 Porsche 911 GT3-R.

With lap times falling, the quickest time of the session was set on the final lap for the #66 Porsche with Scott Malvern putting in a 2:07.440

The first of the four qualifying sessions gets underway at 15:55 local time with the lights going out for the first of two one-hour contests at 10:00 on Sunday August 8.