Asian Le Mans Series Latest

TF Sport Enters 2021 Asian Le Mans Series With Oman Racing. (02.09.20)

TF Sport has announced that it will return to the Asian Le Mans Series in 2021 with Oman Racing. The Redhill-based team last competed in the AsLMS in the 2018/19 season.

Drivers for the 2021 campaign will Oman Al Harthy, Jonny Adam and Tom Canning. All three pilots were due to compete in the 2020 Intelligent Money British GT Championship, Al Harthy and Jonny Adam driving in the #7 entry while 2019 GT4 champion Tom Canning was due to drive alongside Graham Davidson in the #1 car. However, COVID-19 restrictions and calendar changes meant that both entries were withdrawn ahead of the opening round.

The 2021 Asian Le Mans Series will be contested across four four-hour races all taking place in January, split between Thailand’s Buriram Chang International Circuit and Sepang International Circuit, Malaysia.

Photo: TF Sport

TF Sport team owner Tom Ferrier is delighted to be returning to Asia in 2021.

“It’s great to be racing again in the Asian Le Mans Series,” said Tom Ferrier. “Despite the condensed season, the organisers have done a fantastic job in planning four races at two superb venues and it’ll be a good challenge for the crew to have the quick turnaround time in-between the events.

“We have an exciting line-up and I am confident that we will achieve some strong results. We have the capacity to run two cars in the Asian Le Mans Series, which would be great for challenging for both the drivers’ and the teams’ championship!”

Ahmad Al Harthy is also looking forward to the new challenge.

I’m delighted to be teaming with Tom (Canning) and, of course, Jonny,” said Al Harthy. “Jonny and I have won so much together, I really think all three of us make a very strong line-up for the Asian Le Mans Series. If things work out well in Europe with less restrictions on travel in the weeks and months to come, we’ll probably do some one-off races as well.”

The opening round of the 2021 Asian Le Mans Series takes place at Buriram Chang International Circuit on January 9.