European Le Mans Series

Victory For DragonSpeed In European le Mans Series Round Five At Spa (25.09.16)

DragonSpeed, with its #21 Nissan-powered ORECA 05 took the win at Round Five of the 2016 European Le Mans Series with Nicolas Lapierre bringing the car home after an eventful 4 hours of racing in the Ardennes. The victory was especially notable for the team, 2016 being its debut season in the premier European prototype championship.

Second in the LMP2 class was the #47 Team WRT Ligier JS P2 driven by Laurens and Dries Vanthoor alongside Will Stevens. Round Five was Team WRT’s debut appearance in the European Le Mans Series.

Taking the final spot on the LMP2 podium was the #46 Thiriet By TDS Racing ORECA 05 driven by Pierre Thiriet, Mathias Beche and Ryo Hirakawa.

The third place gives Thiriet By TDS Racing a 20-point lead in the Teams Classification ahead of G-Drive Racing who finished fifth after pushing hard from the start.

In LMP3 the top step of the podium was taken by the #9 Graff Ligier JS P3 driven by Eric Trouillet, Paul Petit and Enzo Guibbert. Second, and with sufficient points to wrap up the 2016 LMP3 Teams Classification, was the #2 United Autosports Ligier JS P3, piloted by Alex Brundle, Michael Gausch and Christian England.

Taking the final podium position was the sister #3 United Autosports entry, driven by Mark Patterson, Matthew Bell and Wayne Boyd.

The ##66 JMW Motorsport Ferrari F458 Italia, driven by Robert Smith, Rory Butcher and Andrea Bertolini, took a dominant win in the LMGTE class, giving the team a 20 point lead in the LMGTE Teams Classification. Second in class was the #88 Proton Competition Porsche 911 RSR 991 driven by Gianluca Roda, Christian Ried and Matteo Cairoli.

Third in class was the #55 AF Corce Ferrari F458 Italia, piloted by Duncan Cameron, Matt Griffin and Aaron Scott.

The 4 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps was closely fought across all three classes and produced some superb racing. Full report to follow.