British GT Championship

Huge Grid For British GT At Silverstone

The 2016 British GT Championship moves to Silverstone on June 12 with a three-hour race for the fifth round of the season.

The race has attracted a number of new entrants, specifically in the GT3 field. As this race is also combined with the third round of the 2016 Competion102 GT4 European Series an additional 18 cars have joined the GT4 ranks to produce a total grid of 51 cars.

Joining the GT3 field, FF Corse has entered the #2 Ferrari 488 GT3 to be driven by Marco Attard and Adam Carroll. Carroll’s vacant seat in the #6 Barwell Motorsport Lamborghini Huracán GT3 has been filled by Alexander Sims. Barwell Motorsport has also entered a third Lamborghini Huracán GT3, the #666 car, with Mark Poole and Richard Abra sharing the driving duties.

A fifth Aston Martin Vantage GT3 will also be added, with MB Motorsport entering the #26 car to be driven by Mike Brown and Jamie Wall.

A particularly fascinating entry is the addition of a second Bentley Continental GT3 by Team Parker Racing. The #24 will be driven Ian Loggie and Callum Macleod. Given the team’s first victory with the Bentley Continental GT3 last time out at Oulton Park in the hands of Seb Morris and Rick Parfitt Jnr, Team Parker Racing will be confident that both cars will be running the front of the field over the course of the three-hour race.

In GT4, Fox Motorsport has entered the #48 Ginetta G55 GT4 with the driving duties to be shared by Paul McNeilly and Jamie Stanley.

Also joining GT4 is the Academy Motorsport #62 Aston Martin Vantage GT4 to be driven by Dennis Strandberg and Matt Nicoll-Jones.

Making a welcome return to the championship is GPRM who has entered the #86 Toyota GT86 in the hands of Stefan Hodgetts and James Fletcher.

The Competition102 GT4 European Series field includes some very exciting machinery. Villorba Corse and Swiss Team have both entered Maserati GT MC GT4s against which it will be interesting to benchmark the development of the Ebor GT Motorsport #60 Maserati GT MC GT4 which finished second in class at its previous outing in the hands of Abbie Eaton and Marcus Hoggarth.

The three-hour race on June 12 demands that each car must make a minimum of three pit stops, each of which must involve a driver change. Time penalties which have been added from the Oulton Park will be enforced only at the last mandatory pit stop.

Qualifying for the fifth round of the 2016 British GT Championship starts at 15:40 on June 11 with the lights going out for the start of the three-hour race at 12:50 on June 12.

Leave a Reply