FIA World Endurance Championship

Porsche Win WEC 6 Hours Of Nürburgring (25.07.16)

The #1 Porsche 919 Hybrid, driven by Timo Bernhard, Mark Webber and Brendon Hartley took the chequered flag to win an enthralling 6 Hours of Nürburgring to take maximum points from the fourth round of the 2016 FIA World Endurance Championship. The victory for the #1 car was its first of the year.

Audi Sport team Joest took the second and third spots on the podium. The #8 Audi R18 with Lucas di Grassi, Loïc Duval and Oliver Jarvis driving, was second, nearly 54 seconds back from the winning Porsche. The #7 Audi R18, with Marcel Fässler and Andre Lotterer driving (Benoît Tréluyer not driving at this round due to an accident sustained while training) was third, less than a second behind its sister car. The #7 car had led earlier in the race but both the #7 and #8 cars were disadvantaged by two full course yellows.

Toyota, after the early elation but ultimate frustration at Le Mans, showed little of the pace that had seen it lead for much of the French classic. The #5 and #6 cars finished one lap and four laps off the lead respectively.

LMP2 was won the #36 Signatech Alpine A460 with Gustavo Menezes, Nicolas Lapierre and Stéphane Richelmi driving. Second in class across the line was the #43 RGR Sport by Morand Ligier JS P2, driven by Ricardo Gonzalez, Filipe Albuquerque and Bruno Senna, nearly 17 seconds behind the class-winning car. Completing the podium positions was the #31 Extreme Speed Motorsports Ligier JS P2 with the driving line-up of Ryan Dalziel, Pipo Derani and Christopher Cumming.

The G-Drive Racing #26 ORECA 05 held the early lead after qualifying on pole but a gearbox failure after 74 laps put paid to the team’s chances of leading the standings at the end of the race. Lewis Williamson in the #44 Manor ORECA 05 showed excellent pace in his FIA World Endurance Championship debut to briefly lead.

AF Corsa locked out the first two places in LM GTE Pro with the #51 and #71 Ferrari 488 GTEs taking first and second respectively. Nicki Thiim crossed the line to take third in LM GTE Pro in the #95 Aston Martin Racing Vantage V8. Aston Martin looked the likely class winners earlier in the race but Gianmaria Bruni in the #51 AF Corse Ferrari 488 GTE took the lead past the half way point of the race. Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Team UK had a frustrating race, finishing fourth and seventh in class.

Pedro Lamy crossed the line to take the class victory in LM GTE Am in the #98 Aston Martin Racing Vantage V8, ahead of the #78 KCMG Porsche 911 RSR driven by Christian Ried, Wolf Henzler and Joël Camathias. AF Corsa brought the #83 Ferrari F458 Italia home to take third in class. A post-race scrutineering irregularity, however, saw the #78 KCMG car disqualified, moving the #50 Larbre Competition Chevrolet Corvette C7 up to third in class.

In the FIA World Endurance Championship Manufacturers Championship, Porsche has consolidated its lead on 164 points. Audi are now 35 points behind in second place on 129 points with Toyota maintaining third after what must be a disappointing showing for the Cologne-based team who are now on 97 points.

In the FIA Endurance Trophy for LM P2 Teams, the #36 Signatech Alpine has extended its lead and is now on 112 points, 38 points ahead of the now-second placed #43 RGR Sport car which is on 74 points after its second place finish at the Nürburgring. G-Drive Racing slip to third in the LM P2 standings on 67 points after its very disappointing non-finish.

The #66 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Team UK Ford GT maintains its lead in the FIA Enduranhce Trophy for LMGTE Pro teams on 72 points with the #71 AF Corse Ferrari F458 Italia just two points behind. The #95 Aston Martin Racing entry is only three points further behind so there is all to play over the next five rounds.

The #83 AF Corsa entry has a commanding lead in the LM GTE Am class on 111 points after being promoted to second. The #98 Aston Martin entry is 41 points behind.

The next round of the 2016 FIA World Endurance Championship is the 6 Hours of Mexico to be held at the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez in Mexico City on September 3.